This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by   blue 2 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Saoirse
    Participant

Hi All

My husband and I would like to become foster carers, preferably for long term placements.

I have always wanted to be a foster carer as well as have my own children. I just didn’t expect to not be able to have my own children at all. My husband and I had a stillborn son 5 years ago and have been unable to fall pregnant again since, we’ve been through one cycle of IVF which failed. I’m now 34 and we are still trying naturally to have our own children and may look into more intervention to help us in the future.

Meanwhile, we would really like to foster a child or children now, but are concerned that infertility may stand in the way. I am a social worker and acutely aware that fostering is about providing a loving environment for a child and support for their family, rather than about meeting my need to be a parent. I’ve taken a lot of time considering this and know that foster care is not a solution to infertility. However I also know that I will be a great mum, whether that’s to my own children or someone else’s. Any child that came into our home, for any amount of time, would be treated with as much love and attention as a child that was biologically ours. I know how much these kids need a bit of stability and love and how much of a difference that might make to their lives even if that is for a short time.

My second concern would be around agency policy for fertility treatment and pregnancy. Would I be precluded, or have children removed from the home if I fell pregnant? Are there rules around trying to fall pregnant and undergoing fertility treatments? I have faith that eventually we will be parents, to either our own children, or foster children, or both, and I don’t mind what order that comes in! But I guess I’m not sure what the agency policies are around this.